DeskLightingGuide
A glowing pink desk lamp beside a blue monitor edge, set against a dark isometric peak textured with dotted lines under a bright pink sky
buying-guides

Best Desk Lamp for Computer Work: 6 Models Compared

The best desk lamp for computer work delivers 300-500 lux without screen glare; six models are compared by lux, CRI, CCT, flicker, and warranty.

By DeskLightingGuide Editorial · ·Updated September 6, 2026 · 7 min read

The best desk lamp for computer work is not the brightest one, and it is rarely the most expensive one. It is the lamp that puts a documented amount of light on your keyboard and papers, almost none on the front of your display, and no visible flicker at the dim setting you will use at night. That is a spec-sheet question most listings never answer. This guide sets out the numbers that matter, then compares six lamps and light bars that publish them, priced from about $150 to over $700.

What “for computer work” actually requires

OSHA’s Computer Workstations eTool puts general office lighting at 20 to 50 foot-candles (roughly 215 to 540 lux), notes that rooms with LCD monitors usually need more for the same tasks, up to 73 foot-candles (about 785 lux), and tells employers to “provide supplemental task/desk lighting to adequately illuminate writing and reading tasks while limiting brightness around monitors.” It also says to “position task lighting (for example, a desk lamp) so the light does not reflect on the screen,” and to fit lamps with shields or shades that direct light away from your line of sight.

Read those together and the job description is specific: 300 to 500 lux on the desk surface, a shielded head that stays out of your eyes, and beam geometry that misses the panel. A lamp that hits all three is a computer-work lamp; one that only hits the first is a reading lamp pointed at your screen.

Specs that matter, and specs that are status

Illuminance at a stated height. Lumens describe what the LEDs emit, not what reaches the desk. Look for a lux figure at a distance, such as 1,600 lux at 45 cm, plus a coverage figure at 500 lux. A listing that gives lumens only is withholding the number you need.

CRI, with something beyond Ra. Ra 80 is fine for text. Ra 90 and above matters if you check colour on paper or samples, and the better sheets now add a TM-30 fidelity index (Rf) or the deep-red sample R9. The general-Ra loophole is covered in glare, CRI and lux targets.

Colour temperature range. A 2700 K to 6500 K lamp can match the screen by day and drop warm at night. A fixed 3000 K lamp is not a defect, it is a design choice, and Humanscale makes it deliberately.

Flicker. IEEE 1789-2015 is what manufacturers cite when they print “flicker-free.” Its method plots percent modulation against frequency, and a PNNL deck for the DesignLights Consortium summarises the two lines: a no-effect level at 0.03 times the frequency and a low-risk level at 0.08 times it, so 3 and 8 percent at a 100 Hz ripple. IEEE moved the document to inactive-reserved status in March 2026, but those thresholds are still the ones quoted, and a lamp that names a percentage tells you more than one that names the standard.

Reach and mounting. Arm reach, clamp thickness, and whether the head can sit above eye level and point down decide whether the beam clears the screen. Status specs, by contrast: app control, daylight tracking, a designer credit, the heft of the base.

Six options with published numbers

LampTypeIlluminance (as published)CRICCTPowerWarranty
BenQ ScreenBarMonitor light bar930 lux at 45 cm; 60 x 30 cm at 500 luxRa 95+2700 to 6500 K, 8 stepsUSB 5 V/1 A, 5 W1 year
BenQ ScreenBar Halo 2Light bar with backlightover 1,000 lux at 50 cmRa 95+, Rf 96+2700 to 6500 KUSB-C 5 V/3 A, 15 W1 year
Lume Cube Edge Light 2.0Clamp arm lamp1,700 lux at 0.5 m; 700 lm95+2700 to 7500 K30 Wnot stated
BenQ e-ReadingArm lamp, base or clamp1,600 lux at 45 cm; 90 cm wide at 500 luxRa 95+2700 to 5700 K, 13 steps18 W1 year
Humanscale Horizon 2.0Thin-film arm lampnot published; 7.5 W at 52 lm/W, about 390 lmover 923000 K fixed7.5 W10 years
Dyson Solarcycle MorphArm lamp with dock1,546 lx average, distance not stated; 850 lm90 minimum2700 to 6500 K undocked25 W5 years (AU listing)

Prices at time of writing: Lume Cube lists the Edge Light 2.0 at $149.99 and Humanscale lists the Horizon 2.0 from $761. BenQ and Dyson price dynamically on their own pages, so check before you compare.

BenQ ScreenBar and Halo 2. A bar is the shortest route to the OSHA geometry: the asymmetric reflector aims everything forward and down, BenQ’s product page claims illumination “without causing any reflective glare on the screen,” and an ambient sensor tops the desk up to 500 lux. The ScreenBar spec sheet lists a 1 to 3 cm bezel range at 0.53 kg; the Halo 2 takes 0.43 to 6 cm flat or curved panels at 0.8 kg and adds a rear glow, weight that lands on your monitor arm’s payload. The catch is coverage: 60 x 30 cm at 500 lux lights one monitor’s worth of desk, not a 160 cm surface. Trade-offs are worked through in the monitor light bar buying guide.

Lume Cube Edge Light 2.0. The value pick on paper: 1,700 lux at half a metre, CRI 95+, a clamp for desks to 3.3 inches, five pivot points and 31 inches of reach, enough to get the head above a 27 inch display and pointing down. The 7500 K top end is colder than anything you should use, and the warranty is not stated on the product page, so ask before paying.

BenQ e-Reading. The wide-desk option: 90 cm of coverage at 500 lux, 13 colour steps, 23 brightness steps, and a sensor mode that holds 500 lux at 4000 K for screens or 1,000 lux at 5700 K for paper. It weighs 4.8 kg, the desk clamp is a separate purchase, and BenQ’s US warranty is one year, thin for a lamp at this price.

Humanscale Horizon 2.0. Humanscale publishes no lux figure; from 7.5 W at the listed 52 lm/W the output is about 390 lm, fixed at 3000 K, CRI over 92, with 15 inches of reach. What $761 buys is the thin-film form, touch dimming and a 10-year, 24/7 warranty. That is the only ten-year term in this list and the honest reason to pay the premium; brightness is not.

Dyson Solarcycle Morph. 850 lm, CRI 90 minimum (the lowest here), 1800 to 3400 K when docked, 25 W, 3.5 kg, and the only lamp of the six to state a flicker figure: under 1 percent. Dyson’s Australian listing shows a 5-year warranty; confirm the term for your region. Daylight tracking is the status half of the price.

The setup that produces the number

  1. Mount the head above eye level, pointed down at the keyboard, on the side opposite your mouse hand so your forearm does not shadow the desk.
  2. Do the mirror test: sit normally, treat the screen as a mirror, and move the lamp until it disappears from the reflection.
  3. Dim to 300 to 500 lux at the desk surface. A phone light-meter app is uncalibrated but good enough to compare positions.
  4. Set the monitor so its top sits at or just below eye level; the geometry is set out at monitorarmguide.com’s monitor height guide. For lamp and window positioning, follow the local guide to reducing screen glare at a desk.
  5. Verify after 90 minutes: squinting or leaning toward the screen means the desk is now brighter than the display and the lamp should come down a step; a bright patch you keep glancing at means the head is in your field of view and needs a shade or a higher position.

What a lamp will not fix

The review in BMJ Open Ophthalmology puts the prevalence of digital eye strain at “50% or more among computer users” and lists the management approaches with evidence behind them: correction of refractive error and presbyopia, management of dry eye, regular screen breaks, and attention to vergence and accommodative problems. Lighting addresses the glare and contrast part of that picture, and a well-placed lamp removes a real source of squinting. It does nothing for an out-of-date prescription or a low blink rate. If symptoms persist after the setup above, see an optometrist before buying a more expensive lamp.

Sources

  1. Computer Workstations eTool: Workstation Environment (OSHA)
  2. Digital eye strain: prevalence, measurement and amelioration (BMJ Open Ophthalmology)
  3. IEEE 1789-2015, Recommended Practices for Modulating Current in High-Brightness LEDs (IEEE SA)
  4. Flicker: How to Avoid It, Test for It, and Fix It (PNNL for the DesignLights Consortium)
  5. BenQ ScreenBar specification
  6. BenQ ScreenBar Halo 2 specification
  7. BenQ e-Reading desk lamp specification
  8. BenQ e-Reading desk lamp warranty (US)
  9. Lume Cube Edge Light 2.0 LED desk lamp
  10. Humanscale Horizon 2.0 LED desk light
  11. Dyson Solarcycle Morph desk light (Dyson Australia)

Related